Diamond Awards

 Diamond Awards 2014

The SANDAG iCommute Diamond Awards honor companies, organizations, schools, agencies, and individuals for their outstanding contributions to promoting and participating in alternative transportation choices in the San Diego region. Diamond Awards winners help people get to work or school without adding traffic to the region’s roads and freeways, reduce greenhouse gas emissions, and improve mobility. This is accomplished by promoting alternatives to driving alone: vanpool, carpool, walk, bike, take transit, telework, try a compressed workweek schedule, or a combination of these. Some organizations also provide their employees with incentives, subsidies, or pre-tax deductions to support their participation in eligible programs.
The 2014 Diamond Awards had several categories for organizations, including multiple awards in some categories based on the number of employees. Individual awards recognized those who demonstrated a commitment to promoting sustainable transportation choices in their workplace, school, community, or through their own commuting practices.

This year, we received 51 submissions, 27 for Organization Awards, and 24 for Individual Awards. Thank you to all of the nominees for your commitment to sustainable commuting. Your efforts are greatly appreciated. 

2014 Diamond Awards winners

Organization Awards:
Program Excellence by size category: Recognizes employers that have demonstrated success in promoting and implementing commuter programs that encourage alternative commute choices to driving alone.
  • San Diego County Bicycle Coalition (Micro Employer)
  • Parsons Brinckerhoff (Small Employer)
  • RECON Environmental (Medium Employer)
  • Thermo Fisher Scientific (Macro Employer)
Best New Program: Recognizes successful new commuter programs or efforts to promote sustainable transportation choices for employees (launched within the last two years).
  • JO Communications
All-Star Award: Honors a past Diamond Awards winner with longstanding commuter programs that has demonstrated a sustained commitment to transportation choices for employees through new/expanded programming.
  • UC San Diego
Outstanding Educational Institution: Recognizes educational institutions that have demonstrated a commitment to providing, and success in achieving increased participation in, sustainable transportation solutions for staff and students. One award is given to a K-12 school and one award to a college/university.
  • Encinitas Union School District
  • University of San Diego 
Agency Leadership Award: Champions a public agency that has demonstrated leadership in promoting and advancing sustainable transportation choices for employees.
  • Port of San Diego
Individual Awards:
Community Champion Award: Recognizes a community-based organization or individual who has demonstrated leadership in encouraging sustainable transportation choices in the community. 
  • City Heights Community Development Corporation
Workplace Champion Award: Recognizes an outstanding employee for going above and beyond their peers to promote and garner employee participation in alternative transportation choices.
  • James Sinclair, Vertex Pharmaceuticals
Commuter of the Year: Recognizes an individual who exemplifies exceptional commuting practices year-round.
  • Sigurd Kallhovde, La Jolla Elementary School
Winners were announced at the SANDAG Board of Directors meeting on March 28. They also will receive recognition in the San Diego Business Journal, Region eNewsletter, mention in a SANDAG press release, and a commemorative trophy.

Shining Examples

The SANDAG iCommute Diamond Awards has recognized outstanding commuter programs since 2002. View the list of previous winners. If you would like assistance setting up a commuter program at your company, organization, school, or agency, or if you would like more information, please call 511 and say ”iCommute” and an employer representative will assist you.

employer spotlight